The Octagon House, also known as the Colonel John Tayloe III House, was built over a two-year period between 1798-1800. Colonel John Tayloe (September 2, 1770 – March 23, 1828), was a highly successful plantation owner and considered to be the "Wealthiest man of his day". During its history, it has served as a family home, a girl's school, offices for the Navy, apartments, and finally it has become a museum. It was declared a National Historic Landmark in 1960.
It is regarded as being one of the most haunted houses in Washington DC. Visual phenomena include the apparitions of a female claimed to be Anne Tayloe (daughter of Colonel John Tayloe); a light similar to that of a candle being carried by an invisible hand; a shadowy figure wearing something on its head; and a male apparition in military uniform.
Other effects include cold spots; the sounds of screams, footsteps, bells ringing, glasses clinking, laughter and thuds; the smell of lilacs; lights being found switched on and doors open.
Pictured is the Octagon House courtesy of Steveturphotg.